Week 7 Intermediate Princess Training

Hi ladies! Long time no blog!

As you all know, life can get pretty hectic. Throw a few injuries into the mix and your training can really take a hit. Last blog, I talked about my Savannah 13.1 experience. Great race, but a little unprepared. I finished in the upright position, but I left Savannah with a foot that is still plaguing me. I also played soccer that Tuesday and took a hit to the knee that did a bit of damage, so I took week 6 off and decided to get some recovery in.

I have soccer on Tuesday nights, and I struggle to get my runs in on Tuesday so this week I decided to try out my run on Monday! What a great idea! I don’t feel stressed about getting my run in today and I’ve already gotten one in for the week! Boy, do I feel good!

The training for this week is 45 minutes on Tuesday and Thursday and 9 miles on Saturday.

It was raining so I hit the gym and the treadmill for my run. I was trucking along quite nicely at 5.7 pace when my foot started to talk to me around mile 1.5. I decided to push through until mile 2, but called it quits and went and did some cross training instead. Abs, squats and upper body weights.

I am going to work back up to the 45 minutes, but really listen to my foot while I’m running. Small injuries can turn into life long problems if you don’t pay attention to them and take care of them in the beginning.

I’m giving my foot until Saturday to stop hurting, after Saturday I will have to go see a doctor. If the pain isn’t constant and isn’t crippling, I use the 2 week rule. “If it still hurts after 2 weeks, see a doctor” BUT this rule is only for MINOR injuries. If something pops, swells, bruises, changes color, hurts to touch, hurts to put pressure on, or just always hurts SEEK MEDICAL ATTENTION! I’ll try to do a blog on common running injuries and how to prevent and take care of them.

See you guys back here on Thursday after my 2nd run this week! I may not get 9 in this weekend because of my foot, but I plan to run as far as I can!

Also, I plan on doing some DIY costume video blogs with Alec once we can find the time to meet up! I’ve only seen her once in the past 4 weeks!

Blood, Sweat & Glitter,

Donna

Leave a comment